My American Nightmare Book Tour & Giveaway

Please Share

My American Nightmare:

Women in Horror Anthology
Stories Selected by Azzurra Nox
Genre: YA Horror
For Fans of
American Horror Story, Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Danielle Vega
America, land of the free, land of the brave, land of nightmares? A group
of
female authors come together in this collection of creepy tales and
psychological horror stories to bring you chills and disturbing
images that won’t leave you long after you’re done reading. From
zombies to rural small towns, to the foggy New England to the glamour
of Hollywood, each story focuses on a diverse aspect of living in
America and the horror found in bullying, being the “new girl,”
starting your first job, and navigating the murky waters of
adolescence and all the terrifying changes that come with it. Bold
and haunting, My American Nightmare encompasses daring stories from
new voices in the horror genre. This collection will unsettle your
nerves and linger in your mind, demonstrating that women can show you
a nuance of horror that isn’t always evident from the male perspective.
Dare to take a walk on the dark side.
Stories In Anthology
Angela Sylvaine – The Ballad of Sorrow and Lila
Amelia Kibbie – We Kill The Skullman
R. A. Goli – Mr. Buttons’ Tea Party
Jamie Kahn – The Poison & The Ivy
Rachel Bolton- The Girl & The Yellow Wallpaper
Hillary Lyon – Boys’ Night Out
Nicky Peacock – She Looked Like Krystal Sparkle
Spinster Eskie – Angie’s Change
Sheri Kreitner – The Pickman Sisters of Salem
Sierra Ryan – Volunteer
Kara Nelson – The Eye
E.F. Schraeder – Night Moves
Andrea Teare – 39 Days
Heather Miller – The Stars
Marnie Azzarelli – When Evacuating Pennsylvania
Erica Ruhe – Perle
Phoebe Jane Johnson – Ruby
Azzurra Nox – Whatever Happened to Peyton Rose?
Kara Dennison – Billson

Born in Catania, Sicily, Azzurra Nox has led a nomadic life since birth.
She has lived in various European cities and Cuba, and currently
resides in the Los Angeles area. Always an avid reader and writer
from a young age, she loved entertaining her friends with ghost
stories. She loves horror movies, cats, and a good rock show. She
dislikes Mondays and chick-flicks. CUT HERE, her debut paranormal
urban fantasy was inspired by a nightmare the writer had a few years
ago. Some of her favourite authors include Anne Rice, Oscar Wilde,
Chuck Palahniuk, and Isabella Santacroce.
 

Excerpt from “The Girl & The Yellow Wallpaper”
The faces in the flowers were more pronounced than usual that night. Big eyes, gaping and expectant,
seemed to blink back at her. Lizzie dismissed the idea immediately. Paper did not blink. Nothing could
move in the room, except her. But the yellow faces had a more human quality the more she looked. They
were women’s faces. Lizzie found something feminine in the shape, warped as it may be. The heads in
the wallpaper appeared to tilt to the side, violently, like their necks had been snapped.Excerpt from “Perle”
A muscle flickered in that clean-shaven jaw. “Step out of the vehicle.”
I hesitated. Another bang.
“I said step out of the vehicle.” Singer popped the snap on his holster. “I’m not gonna ask you again.”
Dog whimpers urged me to comply.
My shoulders slumped. I released the latch and fought open the stiff door. It protested with a loud, long
squeal.
“Now what is in the back of this truck?”
Still I hesitated, puckering my lips in a coy attempt at innocence.
“My stepdad.”Excerpt from “Whatever Happened to Peyton Rose?”
“Jesus,” she whispered, not sure if anyone could hear her. The dolls made her feel unsettled as they stared
back at her with vacant eyes. Peering down, a scream escaped her throat when she realized that their
plucked eyes were scattered on the bed. She pushed the comforter off of her. The eyes fell down, making
a sound similar to marbles crashing to the floor as she ran for the door.
Frantic, she opened the door and stood upon the landing. She looked to and fro, not knowing what
direction to run to next.
Don’t panic! She told herself. And yet, her hands were shaking.

GUEST POST

Azzurra Nox, “Whatever Happened to Peyton Rose?”
Where do you find inspiration for your writing?
I find inspiration in a plethora of venues, especially in films and music. But a lot of my scarier
moments in books have been taken directly from my nightmares. For “Whatever Happened to
Peyton Rose?” I was inspired by a nightmare where every time I came in and out of a
bedroom all the furniture was rearranged in the room and the only thing in the room was a
life-size doll.
What’s one of your favorite books and/or short stories?
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. I first read it when I was nine and just found the
notion of an aging painting very terrifying and the lengths one would go to to preserve their
youth. As far as short stories go, I love Joyce Carol Oates’ Haunted: Tales of the Grotesque
collection. She has a way of creating a sensation of dread and uneasiness in the reader that’s
unlike any other author I’ve ever read.
What food/beverage would be a good pairing with your short story?
Something decadent and yet (somewhat) innocent, so I’d go with a Shirley Temple combined
with a Sundae, garnished perhaps with a bloody, severed tongue.
If your short story could have a theme song what song would you choose?
Lost In Hollywood by System of a Down.
One of your favorite literary quotes?
“A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees
the dawn before the rest of the world.” – Oscar Wilde

 

Follow the tour HERE

for exclusive content and a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

 


About Angie

I'm a wife and a a mom of 4: 3 boys and a girl. I also have 3 fur babies, cats named Soleil, Luna, and a Savannah cat name Malkia. I work part-time outside my home as a COTA/L at a local hospital. I cover Johnstown, Altoona, and Pittsburgh areas. I love to do reviews and host giveaways for my readers. Contact me: angwith4 at gmail dot com if you would like a review.

Comments

  1. this cover makes me want to open this book and read it

  2. Cheryl Chervitz says:

    I love skulls, the cover is wonderful.

  3. Adrienne Gordon says:

    Scary cover.

  4. Ann Fantom says:

    I love the cover! It’s awesome!

  5. This looks too scary for me but maybe I’d read one story at a time and I can take it in small doses 🙂 The individual story titles are certainly intriguing and the cover is great!

  6. I think the cover is really cool.

  7. This cover speaks volumes.. Man, I’d love to read this book!

  8. Cynthia C says:

    The cover gives me the chills!

  9. love the cover

  10. David Hollingsworth says:

    The cover looks really intriguing and thrilling.

  11. Azeem Isaahaque says:

    Wow! Looks like a lovely book!

  12. The cover is eerie and cool. I like it!

  13. The cover is chilling. I’m not really a fan

  14. Kyl Neusch says:

    Scary cover.

  15. Abigail Gibson says:

    The cover looks frightening.

  16. nicole brown says:

    This is wonderful, thank you, I subscribed

  17. Angela heerde says:

    I like the book cover,beautiful design.

  18. Cindy Merrill says:

    I’m not into horror much nowadays- I had my fill already being scared during the Midterm elections.

  19. Always enjoy a good scary book.

  20. JASON JENNINGS, Sr. says:

    looks great

  21. Cheryl Repeta says:

    The book looks very interesting to read and the cover is quite fitting for the name of the Book.

  22. I love the cover, makes me want to buy it! Love your profile pic too-very cool..

  23. The cover is wicked. Hope we’ll see this story on “American Horror Story.”

  24. It looks like an interesting read.

  25. Anne Higgins says:

    Your cover leaves me hanging along with the short preview of the book – looks intriguing.

  26. This book looks like a creepy one.

  27. Hesper Fry says:

    The book cover is scary but interesting.

  28. JASON JENNINGS, Sr. says:

    love it

  29. The book cover is kind of scary especially those teeth.

  30. Debra Francis says:

    The cover is intriguing. How did you select the stories?

  31. Jennifer H says:

    I really like the use of the skull with the feminine lace. It draws me in and makes me more likely to read the book jacket.

  32. Carla Sue Thompson says:

    Anthology books are interesting when they have stories by many different authors, with very different writing styles. I like to sample them and see which authors I want to read more from.

  33. Debbi Wellenstein says:

    The cover is lovely and spooky.

  34. kathy pease says:

    I think the book sounds great and I would love to read it.

  35. krystal wethington says:

    Its creepy.

  36. The cover looks spooky

  37. The cover looks a little eerie with the skull. It definitely fits the title.

  38. Brandon Sparks says:

    I think the book cover is amazing. You have out done yourself.. I love it..

  39. Philip Lawrence says:

    The cover shows that there is scary content within the book. I have no question for the author.

  40. Amy delong says:

    Love the skull on the cover

  41. Betty Curran says:

    The cover really tells what is inside.

  42. Mary Gardner says:

    I like the cover and the book sounds like a great read.

  43. Trisha McKee says:

    The cover looks interesting and unique, something that would keep my attention. It looks like a read I’d love.

  44. Angela Saver says:

    I enjoyed this guest post and also the excerpt!

  45. What an intriguing cover.